You Only Have to Ask

Have you ever been listening to yourself talk and soundly you realise that the most profound thing is coming out of your mouth? It’s almost like there is wisdom inside you about the topic at hand that you didn’t even know was there. I surprise myself like this every now and then, it’s a weird feeling.

 “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” James 1:5

Strange as it seems at the time it’s not something I am entitled to feel. Why? Because ever since I was a little girl I have been obeying James 1:5 and asking God for wisdom. For general wisdom  And wisdom for big stuff like buying a house, going to uni, getting in or out of relationships, changing career paths. Wisdom for the day I am about to have, for meetings and decisions and training that I am involved in. Wisdom for to advise and mentor and lead those around me. Wisdom for what I say and how I say it. Wisdom for how I disciple, discipline and direct. Wisdom for the big and the little. So when God does give me the wisdom I shouldn’t be surprised to hear wisdom coming out of my mouth.

Wisdom is something God promises to give liberally, generously, abundantly. Isn’t that great! And, all we have to do is ask 🙂 This must be one of the simplest conditions for receiving a promise in the Bible. It’s so simple – ask and receive lots.

James 1:5 also lets us know that God doesn’t judge us negatively (with reproach) when we ask. Wisdom is ours for the receiving. It’s a gift He wants to give us. So don’t feel bad, just ask. I do, often.

Do you need wisdom in your life? Any? Some? More? You only have to ask God and He will give it to you. Ask, watch and see.

Have you had a time when you’ve asked for wisdom and God has given it to you? Share your comments below.

You may also like:

Certain Wealth in Uncertain Times

One thought on “You Only Have to Ask

  1. Pingback: The Life I Could Have Had « Gail's Angle

Do you agree? Add your thoughts to the discussion.