Adopting a New Bill Paying Philosophy

Courtesy: whydidyouwearthat.com

 As good Christians we say our money is God’s money and we give tithes and offerings but can we say, in total honesty, that we ask God what to do with “His money” that ends up in our purses and bank accounts? Or is our prayer more along the lines of “God, if you don’t want me to buy this thirtieth pair of Barbie pink shoes (which we both know I don’t need AT ALL), make the check out chick stand on her head.”

So there I am, my tax return has just hit my account, on one hand I have a pile of unexpected, big bills and on the other a long list of things I need to get repaired and things I want to buy for my new home. Both hands add up to weigh more than the amount in the bank. Or there’s my university fees coming up and the tax return will just about cover them. And then there is the fact that it’s November and I haven’t even started Christmas shopping… what do I do?

Since acquiring the extra expenses of being the proud owner of a mortgage I’ve been asking God more than once about how I can be a better steward of the money He lends me each month. A few months have gone by and so far no word from heaven but as I considered these options before me and that cash in the bank God reminded me  of Proverbs 3 v 28, which I learnt about ten years ago for my root canal therapy. It was God’s way of saying “Pay your bills first.”

Do not say to your neighbour, “Go, and come back, and tomorrow I will give it, “when you have it with you. Proverbs 3 v 28

But God!” I whined, “They are not due yet and I really need this other stuff, well not need but really, really want… And it’s not like the electricity company needed or appreciates my money….” Before the many excuses led to as to why Christmas shopping was THE priority for this money, a gentle voice reminded me that the businesses I owe are my neighbours too and I need to honour God and use His money according to His will, not mine.

So I set up the payments, pressed the ok button on my internet banking and watched my tax refund shrink more rapidly than plastic wrap on a fire. Missing “my” money but priding myself in my obedience I went on with my day, only to receive another big bill in that day’s mail.

This time car insurance, over a month’s notice to pay, and after a small nod from the Holy Spirit I pay that too – only 12 hours after I received it. Now there is no tax refund but I have honoured God.

And what do I get in return? Nothing yet – well, nothing financially. But I know that I have honoured and obeyed God and He just can’t help but bless that, so I’m watching and waiting, with expectation.

This was not the guidance I expected but it is good and Godly. And although this was not the easiest financial philosophy to adopt, it’s now my bill paying philosophy.

What’s your bill paying philosophy? Does it line up with God’s word? Take a moment to think about how God is presented to the world in your money management methods. Do you need a make a change?

(P.s. I wrote this back in November 2009 so I can tell you the financial blessing God gave me because of my obedience to Him. He dropped an unexpected housemate on my door for a year, which helped me keep to my new bill paying philosophy until it became habit.)

Has God given you practical life tips from His word? Please share them with us in the comments below.

You may also like:

The Decision Dance

Do you agree? Add your thoughts to the discussion.